[boxify cols_use =”2″ cols =”5″ position =”right” order =”none” box_spacing =”5″ padding =”3″ background_color =”gray” background_opacity =”25″ border_width =”1″ border_color =”blue” border_style =”dotted” height =”335″ ]UPCOMING STAKES


  •  John B. Campbell H. (LRL) — Three year-olds and up, 1 1/8 miles
  • Grade 2 Barbara Fritchie H. (LRL) — Fillies and mares, three year-olds and up, 7 furlongs


  • Ranson H. (CT) — Four years old and up, 6 1/2 furlongs[/boxify]

Some stakes trivia for the rescheduled Fritchie and Campbell.  Answers below.

  1. The Campbell is for older horses, while the Fritchie is limited to older fillies and mares.  The Campbell is a route race, while the Fritchie is a sprint.  Though once a major event, the Campbell is nowadays a minor stake, while the Fritchie is the showcase race of the Laurel winter meet.  Yet these two Laurel Park races do have something in common.  What is it?
  2. The Fritchie was first run in 1952 and has been run every year since, with three exceptions.  In what years was the race not run?
  3. Three horses have won back-to-back runnings of the Fritchie, and one of those is in the Maryland Thoroughbred Hall of Fame.  Can you name them?
  4. One horse won two non-consecutive runnings of the Fritchie.  Can you name her?
  5. Which trainer has won the most runnings of the Fritchie, and how many?
  6. In both 1984 and 1985, the Fritchie was run in two divisions.  One rider won three of those four runnings, carrying as little as 114 pounds and as much as 125.  Who was he?
  7. For most of its life, the Fritchie has been run at seven furlongs.  At what other distances has it been run?
  8. Since the Fritchie is a handicap, the horses carry different weights based on the track handicapper’s assessment of their abilities.  Which winner carried the highest-ever weight?
  9. Who won the 2013 Barbara Fritchie?
  10. Speaking of last year’s races, who won the 2013 John B. Campbell?
  11. This will be the 61st running of the Campbell since its inception, in 1954.  It’s been run every year since but one — which year was that?
  12. Which horse won the Campbell three times over a five year period?  Who won the other two years?
  13. In 2009, both the winner and runner-up in the Campbell went on to win Grade 1 races later on that year.  Who were those horses?


  1. Both began at Bowie Race Track.
  2. 1960, 1972, and 2006
  3. Too Bald, Twixt, and Xtra Heat.  Twixt was a part of the inaugural class of the Maryland Thoroughbred Hall of Fame in 2013.
  4. Skipat won in 1979 and 1981 but did not run in 1980.  In 1981, seven days after winning the Fritchie she ran fourth against the boys in the Campbell.
  5. Katy Voss has won the Fritchie three times — with Twixt in 1974 and 1975 and with Wood So in 1992.
  6. Donnie Miller won aboard Pleasure Cay and Bara Lass in 1984 and aboard Dumdedumdum in 1985.
  7. It begain as a 1 1/16 mile race and later was run at six furlongs and, once, at one mile.
  8. Too Bald carried 129 pounds to victory in 1969, her second straight win in the race.
  9. Funnys Approval.
  10. Concealed Identity, who won the race last year at 7.50-1 and is 15-1 on the morning line for tomorrow’s running.
  11. 1977.
  12. Sunny Sunrise won the Campbell in 1992, 1993, and 1996 for trainer Bud Delp.  King Leatherbury’s Ameri Valay won in 1994 and 1995.
  13. Richard’s Kid won the 2009 Campbell and in September of that year upset the Grade 1 Pacific Classic at Del Mar at 24-1.  The runner-up in that year’s Campbell was Bullsbay; he went on to win the Grade 1 Whitney at Saratoga that August.