From a Maryland Jockey Club release

The calendar might say December but apprentice rider Victor Carrasco remained red-hot after posting three victories on Wednesday’s nine-race card at Laurel Park.

The 21-year-old, who won 25 races from 112 mounts at the central Maryland track last month, visited the winners’ circle with Secret Jackpot ($13.80-race 2), Unsighted ($10.60-race 4) and Mshomecomingqueen ($12.60-race 5).

It was the eighth time in the last nine racing days that Carrasco has produced a multiple win afternoon at Laurel. He leads the current fall standings with 48 victories.

Carrasco, who finished second in the Pimlico spring and Delaware Park standings, is one of six apprentice riders vying for the three Eclipse Award finalist spots. He leads all first-year riders in wins and earnings.


Victor Carrasco             960/191-142-155                                               $3,763,015

Edgard Zayas                926/180-121-131                                              $3,430,330

Emmanuel Esquivel      891/136-130-125                                               $3,142,371

Trevor McCarthy           844/126-152-132                                               $3,324,068

Jevian Toledo               735/117-105-125                                               $1,895,921

Manuel Franco              982/114-98-137                                                $3,559,231

“I really hope he wins the Eclipse,” said Hamilton Smith, who teamed up with Carrasco in the fifth race. “He is a really nice kid who works extremely hard.”

McCarthy, who also won three races on Wednesday’s card, and Toledo are also members of the Maryland jockey colony. Esquivel and Franco ride at Aqueduct. Zayas, who is based in south Florida, has less than a week remaining in his bug year.

Maryland-based apprentice riders have captured nine of the 42 Eclipse Awards for Outstanding Apprentice with Chris McCarron (1974), Ronnie Franklin (1978), Alberto Delgado (1982), Allen Stacy (1986), Kent Desormeaux (1987), Mike Luzzi (1989), Mark Johnston (1990), Jeremy Rose (2001) and Ryan Fogelsonger (2002) all being honored. The last dominating apprentice in the state was Rosie Napravnik, who won 279 races during her bug year (2005-2006).

 [boxify cols_use =”5″ cols =”5″ position =”left” order =”none” box_spacing =”5″ padding =”5″ border_width =”2″ border_color =”blue” border_style =”solid” height =”60″]