Jockeys’ Guild elects new Senate

by | Nov 30, 2016 | Breaking, Business, Regionwide

From a Jockeys’ Guild release

The Jockeys’ Guild announced today that 27 members have been elected to the organization’s Senate, including six new Senate members, Jose L. Ortiz, Joe Rocco, Jr., William Antongeorgi III, Eddie Garcia, Esgar Ramirez, and Ricky Ramirez.

Among other responsibilities, the Senate determines the levels of dues and assessments and selects the Board members, including Chairman of the Board. Senate members are elected for a two-year term and will be formally inducted at the Guild’s annual meeting to be held in Las Vegas, Nevada on December 12-13, 2016.

The 27 Senate members are elected by fellow members of the Guild, with nine from each of the three regions.

“The Guild sincerely appreciates the work and support of the previous Senate members and looks forward to working with the newly elected members to further the goals of the Guild,” said Terry Meyocks, National Manager of the Jockeys’ Guild. “The Guild provides the voice for the riders and it is essential that we have a dedicated group of jockeys who are actively involved.”

The list of Guild Senate members follows:


  1. Joe Bravo
  2. Javier Castellano
  3. Julien Leparoux
  4. Mike Luzzi
  5. Irad Ortiz, Jr.
  6. Jose Ortiz
  7. Edgar Prado
  8. Sheldon Russell
  9. John Velazquez


  1. Robby Albarado
  2. Alex Birzer
  3. Joel Campbell
  4. Jon Court
  5. James Graham
  6. Brian Hernandez, Jr.
  7. Glen Murphy
  8. Rodney Prescott
  9. Joe Rocco, Jr.


  1. William Antongeorgi, III
  2. G. R. Carter
  3. Eddie Garcia
  4. Cody Jensen
  5. Leslie Mawing
  6. Edgar Ramirez
  7. Ricky Ramirez
  8. Mike Smith
  9. Joe Talamo