From a Maryland Jockey Club release

The $50,000 Jockey’s Challenge, presented by Xpress Bet, will feature active Hall of Fame riders. The seven jockeys have combined to win more than 44,000 races with earnings of $1.6 billion through March 11.

Gary Stevens (1997 Hall of Fame inductee), Russell Baze (1999), Mike Smith (2003), Kent Desormeaux (2004), Edgar Prado (2008), John Velazquez (2012) and Calvin Borel (2013) will compete in four races with points award­ed based upon their finish.

“Throughout the years we have had many formats for the Jockey Challenge and getting the active Hall of Famers is a coup,” Chuckas said. “As an added bonus, Russell Baze, who has more than 50,000 career mounts, has never ridden at Pimlico. That will be fun.”

The jockey with the most points at the end of a four-race competition will be crowned champion. Riding assignments are determined by a drawing Sunday, May 11, and jockeys receive points for finishing first (12 points), second (6), third (4) and fourth (3) in each race. The champion jockey will earn $20,000. Other prize money: $12,000 (second), $8,000 (third), $6,000 (fourth), $2,000 (fifth) and $1,000 (sixth and seventh).

The Lady Legends For the Cure Race

Now in its fifth year, the Lady Legends For the Cure Race™ was the first ever pari-mutuel race showcasing retired female riders.

Mary Russ-Tortora will not be back to defend her title but four of the original riders return: Patti Cooksey, Jennifer Rowland-Small, Barbara Jo Rubin and Cheryl White. Abby Fuller, Andrea Seefeldt-Knight and Stacie Clark-Rogers are also veterans of the event.

Tami Purcell-Burkland is the new shooter. The Texas native is the only female jockey to win the All American Futurity (G1) Quarter Horse race.