YOU BE THE STEWARD: 2021 TESIO STAKES
In Saturday’s Federico Tesio Stakes at Pimlico, the erratic Excellorator was first over the line but was then disqualified for impeding the runner-up, The Reds. In fact, the jockeys on both The Reds (Victor Carrasco) and Royal Number (Julian Pimentel) objected against the winner.
Was it the right call? Check out the video above, and let us know below.
- Mid-Atlantic Three Stars: May 11Your five-minute read to catch up on all the Mid-Atlantic racing action you may have missed over the weekend…
Under Maryland’s rules, the stewards may disqualify a horse if it carries another horse in or out, crosses or weaves in front of a horse without sufficient clearance, or jostles, intimidates, or impedes another horse. Unlike in some states, in Maryland the violation need not cost the other horse a placing.
So what it’ll it be? Leave the winner up? DQ and place him second? Or even DQ him and place him third?
Monkeys Spinning Monkeys by Kevin MacLeod