From a National Thoroughbred Racing Association release

Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes winner American Pharoah who became America’s 12th Triple Crown winner after breaking a thirty-seven year draught since 1978 on June 6 at Belmont Park is the unanimous leader of his division and now for all horses of all ages in the latest NTRA Top Thoroughbred Poll, results of which were released today. The Pioneerof the Nile colt received all 35 first-place votes for 350 points.

The next six finishers remain the same from last week’s results with Eclipse Award champion Shared Belief in second with (270 points) followed by 2014 Horse of the Year champ California Chrome (244), Honor Code (243), Eclipse Award winner Main Sequence (157), Tonalist (119) and Constitution (70).

Moving in eighth and new to the NTRA Top Thoroughbred Poll is the recent winner from this past Saturday’s  Grade I Stephen Foster Handicap Noble Bird with (69) points. Welcoming back to the line-up and taking the ninth slot after winning the Grade III Adoration Stakes this past Saturday at Santa Anita Park is two-time Eclipse Award winner Beholder with (68) points.  Lea dropped down from eighth to tenth after a tough beat to Noble Bird in the Stephen Foster with (61) points.

Eligible media cast votes for their top 10 horses, with points awarded on a 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis.  The Top Thoroughbred Poll is conducted weekly through the Monday following the Breeders’ Cup World Championships.

The NTRA Top 3-Year-Old Poll concluded after the Belmont Stakes.

[su_box title=”NTRA TOP THOROUGHBRED POLL” style=”glass”]
  1. American Pharoah
  2. Shared Belief
  3. California Chrome
  4. Honor Code
  5. Main Sequence
  6. Tonalist
  7. Constitution
  8. Noble Bird
  9. Beholder
  10. Lea