Stronach 5 races announced

by | Jan 17, 2019 | Breaking, Maryland, MD Racing, Racing

From a Maryland Jockey Club release

Friday’s Stronach 5 will have a $50,000 guaranteed pool and will feature turf races from Gulfstream Park and Santa Anita Park.

The national pick 5 sequence, with an industry-low 12-percent takeout, will begin with a one mile turf event from Gulfstream Park before heading north to Laurel Park for a claiming event with a dozen runners. The sequence wraps up with turf races at Gulfstream and Santa Anita Park.

First race post time for the Stronach 5 is 4:10 p.m.

  • Leg One – Gulfstream Park 8th Race – (16 entries, one mile turf) 4:10 ET, 1:10 PT
  • Leg Two –Laurel Park 9th Race –(12 entries, seven furlongs) 4:35 ET, 1:35PT
  • Leg Three –Gulfstream Park 9th Race – (9 horses, 1 1/16 miles) 4:41 ET, 1:41 PT
  • Leg Four – Gulfstream Park 10th Race – (16 entries, one mile turf) 5:12 ET, 2:12 PT
  • Leg Five – Santa Anita Park 4th Race – (8 entries, one mile turf) 5:30 ET, 2:30 PT

 

The minimum wager on the multi-race, multi-track Stronach 5 is $1. If there are no tickets with five winners, the entire pool will be carried over to the next Friday.

For the Stronach 5, if a change in racing surface is made after the wagering closes, each selection on any ticket will be considered a winning selection. If a betting interest is scratched, that selection will be substituted with the favorite in the win pool when wagering closes.

The Maryland Jockey Club serves as host of the Stronach 5.

Check out...