Friday’s Stronach 5 races unveiled

by | Nov 1, 2018 | Breaking, Handicapping, National news | 0 comments

From a Stronach Group release

Friday’s Stronach 5, a national wager featuring an industry-low 12-percent takeout, will kick off Friday at Santa Anita Park and go cross-country with stops at Gulfstream Park West, Laurel Park and Golden Gate Fields.

The sequence begins with Santa Anita’s fourth race, a 5 ½ furlong event for 2-year-old fillies, before heading cross-country to Gulfstream West for a turf event with 16 3-year-olds entered to go a mile on the turf. After a stop in Maryland for Laurel’s 10th race featuring fillies and mares going a mile, the sequence heads west for Santa Anita’s fifth race, a mile turf event for fillies and mares, before concluding at Golden Gate Fields with a field of 10 juvenile claimers going 5 ½ furlongs on the all-weather surface.

Friday’s Stronach 5 sequence

● Leg One – Santa Anita Fourth Race (nine horses, main), 4:53 ET, 1:53 PT

● Leg Two – Gulfstream West Ninth Race (16 horses, turf), 5:02 ET, 2:02 PT

● Leg Three – Laurel Park 10th Race (10 horses, main), 5:16 ET, 2:16 PT

● Leg Four – Santa Anita Fifth Race (10 horses, turf), 5:35 ET, 2:35 PT

● Leg Five – Golden Gate Fifth Race (10 horses, all-weather), 5:50 ET, 2:50 PT

Past performances for Friday’s Stronach 5, which features two turf races and 52 entries, are available here.

The Stronach 5 Preview Show, hosted by Jason Blewitt and featuring Millie Ball, Ron Nicoletti, Stan Salter and Matt Dinerman is available here.

Five bettors won $15,765.50 on last week’s Stronach 5.

The Stronach 5, hit Oct. 19 by one bettor who took home $88,286, has offered bettors a good return on investment. The national Pick 5 rewarded 14 bettors Sept. 28 with $9,888 while the Oct. 5 payoff was $1,161 with the highest payoff being $12. The Oct. 12 Stronach 5 returned $3,629 to 25 bettors with the highest payoff in the sequence being $14.

The minimum wager on the multi-race, multi-track Stronach 5 is $1. If there are no tickets with five winners, the entire pool will be carried over to the next Friday.

For the Stronach 5, if a change in racing surface is made after the wagering closes, each selection on any ticket will be considered a winning selection. If a betting interest is scratched, that selection will be substituted with the favorite in the win pool when wagering closes.

The Maryland Jockey Club serves as host of the Stronach 5.

Check out...